الفيزياء الكمية

هناك ارتباط وثيق ما بين البحوث الأساسية والتكنولوجيا، حيث ينبثق عن البحوث الأساسية مفاهيم أساسية جديدة يمكن تسخيرها في صناعة الأجهزة والتكنولوجيا الجديدة. في ذات الوقت، يتيح لنا التقدم التكنولوجي دراسة الجوانب الأساسية للطبيعة بدقة أكبر. وهكذا، تلعب العلاقة التكافلية بين البحوث الأساسية والتكنولوجيا دور الدافع الرئيسي لإحداث التغييرات الجذرية على مر عصور تاريخ البشرية - سواء كانت الثورة الصناعية في القرن الثامن عشر، أو الثورة الكمية التي بدأت في مطلع القرن العشرين، وصولاً إلى الحقبة الرقمية الحالية في مجال الإلكترونيات والحواسيب والإنترنت وتكنولوجيا الليزر التي أبرزت الأثر الذي يمكن أن تحدثه العلوم والتكنولوجيا.

 

Quantum Physics

ونجد أنفسنا اليوم وسط ثورة كمية ثانية، جوهرها التكنولوجيا الكمية. تدفع التكنولوجيا الكمية بالعلاقة التكافلية بين العلوم الكمية الأساسية والتطبيقات التكنولوجية قدماً إلى مستويات غير مسبوقة. ففي التكنولوجيا الكمية، يتلاشى الحد الفاصل ما بين البحوث الأساسية والتطبيقية، حيث يجب صناعة الأجهزة الكمية اللازمة لتطبيق التكنولوجيا بشكل عملي في هذا المجال باستخدام منصات مادية تتمتع بمزايا التأثيرات الكمية. في ذات الوقت، وبسبب الظروف التشغيلية المحددة التي تحتاجها لكي تعمل، فإن المواد الكمية المصممة للتكنولوجيا الكمية قد تُظهر خصائص مادية أساسية جديدة وغير متوقعة.

 

نبحث في مجموعة الفيزياء الكمية في المواد الكمية للتكنولوجيا الكمية. ندرس الارتباطات الكمية والتشابك الكمي في نظرية الأجسام المتعددةمع تطبيقات محددة للغازات الكمية المحصورة في هياكل منخفضة الأبعاد ، والإلكترونيات الذرية، والشبكات الميزوسكوبية، والدوائر فائقة التوصيل. كما نستخدم التجارب لبناء تصاميم الأجهزة والمستشعرات الكمية التي تمتاز بتحكم أفضل ومرونة في ظروف تشغيلها. ندرس تبادل المعلومات الكمية والنقل الكمي المتماسك /غير المتماسك في الشبكات الكمية. ونضع التصاميم الهندسية لأجهزة المحاكاة الكمية التي توظف التماسك الكمي وتشابك المواد الكمية، ونبحث في ذات الوقت في الأوجه الأساسية لأطوار المواد الكمية التي تنشأ من التفاعلات ضمن الأنظمة الكمية متعددة الجسيمات.

مجموعة الفيزياء الكمية

البروفيسور الدكتور لويجي أميكو

المدير التنفيذي
قسم الفيزياء

ص. ب: 9639، مدينة مصدر، أبوظبي، الإمارات العربية المتحدة

Luigi.Amico@tii.ae

البروفيسور لويجي أميكو هو المدير التنفيذي لمجموعة الفيزياء الكمية. تركز بحوثه على الفيزياء الكمية الإحصائية، ابتداء من الفيزياء الحسابية والمعلومات الكمية إلى فيزياء الأجسام المتعددة والجسيمات الصغيرة والمتناهية الصغر والتكنولوجيا الكمية للغازات شديدة البرودة. قبل انضمامه إلى معهد الابتكار التكنولوجي، شغل البروفيسور أميكو عدداً من المناصب اشتملت على بروفيسور مشارك في قسم الفيزياء في جامعة كاتانيا (ايطاليا)، وعضو مشارك في مركز الامتياز لعلوم المواد والمادة المكثفة (CNR-MATIS) (ايطاليا)، وعضو مشارك في المعهد الوطني للفيزياء النووية (INFN) (ايطاليا). كما تم تعيين البروفيسور أميكو في العام 2010 كبروفيسور أبحاث زائر في مركز أبحاث التكنولوجيا الكمية (CQT) (سنغافورة)، وحاز على مقعد التميّز من لانيف - مختبر تحالفات علوم النانو و طاقات االمستقبل في غرونوبل (فرنسا)، وعلى (البروفيسور المتميز) من مختبر ماجولاب المشترك بين فرنسا وسنغافورة (CNRS-UNS-NUS-NTU).

عرض الباحث العلمي من Google

شواغر الدكتوراه وما بعد الدكتوراه

تبحث مجموعة الفيزياء الكمية عن علماء يافعين مؤهلين، ويمتلكون الدافع والحماس (ما بعد الدكتوراه) وعن طلاب دكتوراه كذلك. ومع أن الأبحاث نظرية، لكن هنالك إمكانية للمشاركة في التجارب.الرجاء التواصل مع Luigi.Amico@tii.ae للمزيد من المعلومات.

 

منشورات الفيزياء الكمية

Quantum Physics

Fundamental research and technology are intertwined: Basic research provides new fundamental concepts to be harnessed in new devices and technological instruments. At the same time,  technological progress allows us to study fundamental aspects of Nature with  more and more precision.  This way, fundamental research and technology, in symbiotic relation, have acted as the  primum mobile for epochal changes in human history. The 18th century industrial revolution, or  more recently, the quantum revolution culminating in the current ‘digital era’ with electronics, computers, internet, laser technologies shows how science and technology can be disrupting.

Quantum Physics

Today, we are in the middle of a second quantum revolution. Its core is Quantum Technology. For Quantum Technology, the boundary between basic and applied research is particularly blurred. On the one hand, interesting quantum devices for applications of practical value in this discipline must be constructed of physical platforms characterized by pronounced quantum effects. On the other hand, because of the specific operating conditions in which it needs to work, quantum matter designed for quantum technology may display new fundamental and unexpected physical features.

In the Quantum Physics group, we investigate  quantum matter for quantum technology. We study quantum correlations and entanglement in many-body theory, with specific applications to quantum gases spatially confined in low-dimensional structures, atomtronics, mesoscopic networks, and superconducting circuits. In close contact with experiments, we conceive quantum devices and sensors characterized by  enhanced control and flexibility of their operating conditions. We study quantum information transfer and coherent/incoherent quantum transport in quantum networks. We engineer new schemes of quantum simulators exploiting quantum coherence and entanglement of the quantum matter. At the same time, we investigate fundamental aspects of quantum phases of matter made of interacting quantum many-particle systems.

Quantum Physics Group

Prof. Dr Luigi Amico

Executive Director
Quantum Physics

P.O. Box: 9639, Masdar City, Abu Dhabi (UAE)
Luigi.Amico@tii.ae

Prof. Amico research focuses on quantum statistical physics, ranging from mathematical physics and quantum information to many-body, mesoscopic physics and ultra-cold gas quantum technology. Before joining TII, Prof. Amico held a number of different positions, including Associate Professor in the Physics Department at the University of Catania (Italy); associate member of the CNR-MATIS Excellence Centre for Condensed Matter and Material Science (Italy); and associate member of the Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare (INFN) (Italy). Since 2010, Prof. Amico is a Visiting Research Professor at the Centre for Quantum Technologies (CQT) (Singapore). He holds the ‘Lanef-Chaire d’excellence’ in Grenoble (France) and the ‘Distinguished Invited Professor’ position at the joint Franco-Singaporean MajuLab CNRS-UNS-NUS-NTU.

View Google Scholar

Dr Giampiero Marchegiani

Postdoctoral Researcher

Ben Blain

Junior Researcher

Wayne Chetcuti

Junior Researcher

Prof. Dr Gianluigi Catelani

Visiting Research Professor

Dr Juan Polo

Postdoctoral Researcher

Dr Andreas Osterloh

Senior Researcher

Open PhD and postdoctoral positions

The Quantum Physics group is seeking well-qualified, highly motivated, and dynamic young scientists (postdocs) as well as PhD students. While the research is theoretical, contact with experiments may take place. Please reach out to Luigi.Amico@tii.ae to learn more.

Quantum Physics Publications