الحوسبة الكمية

على الرغم من أنه تم تأسيس ميكانيكا الكم لوصف الذرات قبل أكثر من قرن، لكن ليس من الضروري أن تكون الأجسام صغيرة كي تُظهر تصرفات ميكانيكا الكم، ولعل الموصلات الفائقة هي أشهر مثال على ذلك. تُستخدم الأجهزة الفائقة التوصيل كوحدات كيوبت لتخزين ومعالجة المعلومات الكمية، وتتكون من ملايين الذرات، ومعظم دوائرها كبيرة لدرجة أنه يمكن رؤيتها بالعين المجردة. وبالتالي فإن هذه الأجهزة سهلة الصنع نسبياً ويمكننا استخدام موجات الراديو السنتيمترية، وهي موجات ميكروية تشبه بشكل كبير تلك المستخدمة في الطبخ والهواتف المحمولة، لبرمجة تلك الأجهزة وتوجيه تطورها.

quantum Computation

سنقوم بتصميم دوائرنا الكمية في الموقع باستخدام معمل سبك كمي، وذلك من خلال ترسيب طبقات رقيقة من الألمنيوم على ركيزة عازلة من السيليكون أو الياقوت. يتميز الألمنيوم بكونه فائق التوصيل عند درجات الحرارة المنخفضة جداً، ويمكن الحصول على نظير غير خطي لمذبذب محث ومكثف إلكتروني تقليدي عبر إدخال تقاطع جوزيفسن ضمن الدائرة. تتصرف هذه الدائرة بشكل مشابه لذرة اصطناعية، ويمكن استخدام مستويات طاقتها (الدوال الموجية) لترميز المعلومات الكمية. يمكن استخدام أي مستويين من الطاقة ليعملا ككيوبت، حيث أن الطاقة الكامنة غير متناسقة (مثل الجهد الكهربائي في الذرة) يمكن التعامل مع هذه المستويات بشكل منفرد باستخدام الموجات الميكروية ("التخاطب مع الكيوبت بالراديو"). حتى عند درجة الحرارة المنخفضة جداً داخل ثلاجات التمديد (10 ملي كلفن) تحافظ هذه الدوائر على وضعها في حالة فائقة التوصيل متماسكة لبضعة لأجزاء من مليون من الثانية، قبل أن تتسبب تفاعلات لا مفر منها مع البيئة بإتلاف حالة التماسك. إلا أن ذلك الزمن يكفي لتنفيذ المئات من العمليات الكمية الخاضعة للرقابة، لأن التلاعب بالحالة الكمية للمذبذب لا يستغرق سوى بضعة عشرات الأجزاء من ألف مليون من الثانية.

 

مجموعة الحوسبة الكمية

Andrew Lutken
البروفيسور الدكتور أندرو لوتكن

مدير تنفيذي
الحوسبة الكمية

ص. ب: 9639، مدينة مصدر، أبوظبي، الإمارات العربية المتحدة

Andrew.Lutken@tii.ae

البروفيسور لوتكن هو المدير التنفيذي لمجموعة الحوسبة الكمية. قبل انضمامه إلى معهد الابتكار التكنولوجي، شغل البروفيسور لوتكن عدداً من المناصب، بما فيها زميل وأستاذ مساعد في في المعهد الاسكندنافي للفيزياء النظرية (NORDITA) في كوبنهاجن، دنمارك وزميل وباحث زائر ومشارك علمي في المنظمة الأوروبية للأبحاث النووية في جينيفا، سويسرا، وزميل أبحاث أول في كلية يسوع في أكسفورد في المملكة المتحدة، وباحث زائر في جامعة برشلونة في إسبانيا. وحاز البروفيسور لوتكن على درجة الدكتوراه من جامعة تكساس في مدينة أوستن في الولايات المتحدة ، وهو بروفيسور في قسم الفيزياء في جامعة أوسلو في النرويج منذ عام 1993. 

شواغر الدكتوراه وما بعد الدكتوراه

تبحث مجموعة الحوسبة الكمية عن مهندسي كم مؤهلين للمساعدة في تصميم ومحاكاة وقياس المكونات فائقة التوصيل الجديدة للمعالجة الكمية أو البنية التحتية التجريبية للدعم على أن يكون لديهم الخبرة في العمل المخبري القائم على التجربة، بما في ذلك إعداد ومعالجة وتركيب أنظمة التبريد العميق وتصميم وبناء الدوائر الإلكترونية. كما ونرحب بمن لديهم الخبرة في معالجة الدوائر فائقة التوصيل. للمزيد من المعلومات يرجى التواصل مع Andrew.Lutken@tii.ae.

منشورات الحوسبة الكمية

Quantum Computation

Although quantum mechanics was invented to describe atoms more than a century ago, a physical object does not have to be small to behave quantum mechanically, and superconductors are perhaps the best know example of this. Superconducting devices used as qubits for storage and processing of quantum information are made of millions of atoms, and most of the circuitry is so large that it is almost visible to the naked eye. Consequently, these devices are relatively easy to manufacture, and we can use centimeter radio waves, i.e. microwaves very similar to those used in cooking and mobile telephones, to programme and control the evolution of these devices.

quantum Computation

Our quantum circuits will be cast on-site in a ‘quantum foundry’, by depositing thin layers of aluminum on an insulating substrate of silicon or sapphire. At very low temperature aluminum is superconducting, and by inserting Josephson junctions in the circuit a non-linear analog of a conventional electronic LC oscillator is obtained. This circuit acts like an artificial atom, whose energy levels (wave-functions) can be used to encode quantum information. Any two levels can serve as a qubit, and because the potential is not harmonic (neither is the Coulomb potential in an atom) these levels can be individually addressed using microwaves (‘talking to qubits by radio’). Even at the extremely low temperature inside our dilution refrigerators (10 milli-Kelvin) these circuits can only remain in a coherent superconducting state for some microseconds, before unavoidable interactions with the environment destroys the coherence.  However, since it only takes a few nanoseconds to manipulate the state of the quantum oscillator this is sufficient time to execute hundreds of controlled quantum operations.

Quantum Computation Group

Andrew Lutken
Prof. Dr Andrew Lütken

Executive Director
Quantum Computation

P.O. Box: 9639, Masdar City, Abu Dhabi (UAE)
Andrew.Lutken@tii.ae

Prof. Lütken is Executive Director of the Quantum Computation group. Prior to joining the Technology Innovation Institute, he has held a number of positions: Fellow and Assistant Professor at the Nordic Institute for Theoretical Physics in Copenhagen (Denmark); Fellow, Visiting Researcher and Scientific Associate at the European Organization for Nuclear Research in Geneva (Switzerland); Senior Research Fellow at Jesus College in Oxford (United Kingdom); and Visiting Researcher at the University of Barcelona (Spain). He earned his PhD from the University of Texas at Austin (United States) and has been a Professor in the Department of Physics at the University of Oslo (Norway) since 1993.

Dr Boulos Alfakes

Senior Researcher

Open PhD and Postdoctoral Positions

The Quantum Computation group is seeking well-qualified quantum Engineers to assist in the design, simulation and measurement of novel superconducting components for quantum processing or experimental  support infrastructure. Familiarity with experimental laboratory work, including preparation, handling and installation of cryogenic systems and in electronic circuits design and realization is required. Experience in superconducting circuits processing is appreciated. Please reach out to Andrew.Lutken@tii.ae to learn more.

Quantum Computation Publications