أبحاثنا

الفيزياء الكمية

البروفيسور الدكتور لويجي أميكو

تبحث مجموعة الفيزياء الكمية في المواد الكمية للتكنولوجيا الكمية. ندرس الارتباطات الكمية والتشابك الكمي في نظرية الأجسام المتعددة، والتطبيقات المحددة للغازات الكمية المحصورة في الأجسام ذات الأبعاد المنخفضة، والإلكترونيات الذرية، والشبكات الميزوسكوبية، والدوائر فائقة التوصيل. كما نستخدم التجارب لبناء تصاميم الأجهزة والمستشعرات الكمية التي تمتاز بتحكم أفضل ومرونة في ظروف تشغيلها. ونبحث في ذات الوقت في الأوجه الأساسية لأطوار المواد الكمية.

الخوارزميات الكمية

البروفيسور الدكتور لياندرو أوليتا

تركز مجموعة الخوارزميات الكمية على نظرية وتطبيقات الحوسبة الكمية، وبشكل خاص على تطوير الخوارزميات الكمية المستخدمة في مسائل التحسين الكمي، وتعلّم الآلة الكمي، والمحاكاة الكمية لمجموعة من الأجسام. وينصب اهتمامنا على الأساسيات العملية المستخدمة في الأجهزة الكمية على المدى القريب، إضافة إلى الإجراءات المتقدمة للحواسيب العامة المستقبلية الكمية كلياً. تشتمل أنشطتنا البحثية على الأساليب الهجينة التي تجمع ما بين الأساليب التقليدية والكمية، وعلى الشبكة العصبية وشبكة المصفوفات متعددة الأبعاد المصنّفة هرميّاً، وعلى التطوّر في الزمن التخيلي، والمعالجة الكمية للإشارات، وتصحيح وتفادي الأخطاء الكمية، والتعقيد الحسابي، ومخططات التحقق والقياس في الأجهزة الكمية، وتجميع الدوائر الكمية وغيرها.

البرمجيات الوسطية الكمية

البروفيسور الدكتور ستيفانو كارازا

تتطلب محاكاة الأنظمة الكمية والتحكم بها تطوير برمجيات مخصصة لذلك. تركز مجموعة البرمجيات الوسطية الكمية على تطبيق مكتبات البرمجة الضرورية لتصميم الخوارزميات الكمية بكفاءة، وإجراء المحاكاة الكلاسيكية للحوسبة الكمية، والتحكم بالأجهزة الكمية. ويعتبر المجال الرئيسي لبحوث المجموعة تطوير (كيبو)، وهي برمجية مفتوحة المصدر للحوسبة الكمية.

الاتصالات الكمية

الدكتور جيمس أ. جريف

تركز مجموعة الاتصالات الكمية على تطوير أجهزة الاتصالات الكمية لاستخدامها في شبكات المستقبل عن طريق بناء أنظمة يمكنها العمل في العالم الحقيقي خارج المختبر. تشتمل بحوثنا على تحويل التجارب المخبرية إلى أنظمة تعمل بالدوائر المتكاملة، حيث نصمم ونبني مصادر الفوتونات المتشابكة ومصادر انبعاث الفوتونات الفردية لاستخدامها في الجيل الجديد من الشبكات الكمية. كما نستجيب للتحديات قريبة الأمد في مجال الاتصالات الخاصة عبر تطوير أنظمة توزيع المفاتيح الكمية، واستخدام التشابك الكمي لإتاحة اتصالات فائقة الأمان عبر روابط الألياف والفضاء المفتوح.

الحوسبة الكمية

البروفيسور الدكتور أندرو لوتكن

تعمل مجموعة الحوسبة الكمية على بناء وتشغيل أول حاسوب كمي في المنطقة، وذلك باستخدام دوائر ذات موصلية فائقة عند حرارة تقارب درجة الصفر، حيث أن الارتباطات الكمية تصمد في هذه الحالة أمام التغيرات في درجة الحرارة. كما يتم تطوير الكيوبت وهندسة الحاسوب ودوائر التحكم بالتعاون مع مجموعات اخرى في مركز بحوث الكوانتوم ، وسيتم إنتاجها في معمل السبك الكمي الموجود لدينا في الموقع.

المستشعرات الكمية

الدكتور رينيه ريمان

تهتم مجموعة المستشعرات الكمية بالدراسات الأساسية وتطوير التكنولوجيا المتعلقة بالمستشعرات البصرية الميكانيكية. وتتطرق المجموعة في تجاربها البحثية الرئيسية إلى أجهزة استشعار الجسيمات المرفوعة ضمن ظروف الفضاء المفرَغ بشكل عالي. حيث يوفر الرفع والتفريغ درجة عالية من العزل للنظام، مما يمكننا من جسّ تأثيرات ميكانيكا الكم واستخدامها. وتعتبر أنظمتنا واعدة لاستخدامها في أجهزة استشعار القصور الذاتي المتطورة، ورصد قوى عزم الدوران وأجزائه، والاستشعار الكيماوي، وغيرها. ونظراً لمتطلبات ثبات أجهزة الاستشعار المستخدمة في العالم الحقيقي، يمكن لبحوثنا أن تمتد حتى تشمل إعدادات بصرية ميكانيكية مثبتة أكثر قوة .

Our Research

Quantum Physics

Prof. Dr Luigi Amico

The Quantum Physics group investigates quantum matter for quantum technology. We study quantum correlations and entanglement in many-body theory, with specific applications to quantum gases spatially confined in low-dimensional structures, atomtronics, mesoscopic networks, and superconducting circuits. In close contact with experiments, we conceive quantum devices and sensors characterised by enhanced control and flexibility of their operating conditions. At the same time, we investigate fundamental aspects of the quantum phases of matter.

Quantum Algorithms

Prof. Dr Leandro Aolita

The Quantum Algorithms group focuses on quantum computation theory and applications, with emphasis on the development of quantum algorithms for complex optimisations, machine learning, and many-body system simulations. We are interested in both practical primitives for near-term devices and advanced procedures for future, fully-fledged universal quantum computers. We explore hybrid classical-quantum approaches, neural- and tensor- networks, imaginary-time evolution, quantum signal processing, error correction and mitigation, computational complexity, verification and benchmarking, and quantum-circuit compiling, etc.

Quantum Middleware

Prof. Dr Stefano Carrazza

The simulation and control of quantum systems requires the development of dedicated software. The Quantum Middleware group focuses on implementing the code libraries required for efficient quantum algorithms design, classical simulation of quantum computation, and control of quantum devices. The main area of research for the group is the development of Qibo, an open-source software for quantum computing.

Quantum Communications

Dr James A. Grieve

The Quantum Communications group is focused on developing quantum communication devices for tomorrow’s networks by building systems that can operate in the real world, outside of the lab. Our research includes the translation of bench-top experiments into chip-scale systems, designing and building entangled photon sources and single photon emitters for next-generation quantum networks. To address near-term challenges in private communication, we also develop quantum key distribution systems, using quantum entanglement to enable ultra-secure communication over fibre and free-space links.

Quantum Computation

Prof. Dr Andy Lütken

The Quantum Computation group will build and operate the first quantum computer in the region, using superconducting circuits at nearly zero temperature, where quantum correlations survive thermal fluctuations. Qubits, computer architecture and control circuits are being designed in collaboration with other groups at QRC and will be produced in our own on-site quantum foundry.

Quantum Sensing

Dr Rene Reimann

The Quantum Sensing group is interested in fundamental studies and technology development of optomechanical sensors. The group’s main experimental research line addresses levitated particle sensors under ultra-high vacuum conditions. Levitation and vacuum provide a high level of system isolation, enabling us to probe and use quantum mechanical effects. Our systems are promising candidates for high-end inertial sensors, sensing of minute torques and forces, and chemical sensing, among others. Due to stability demands of real-world sensors, an extension of our research to more robust clamped optomechanical setups is possible.